Skip to content

Money

The best no annual fee credit card in Canada for Costco shoppers (2026)

The CIBC Costco Mastercard earned $336 a year on our sample budget for $0, and two free cards together earned $432. Every $0 card we compared, which ones work at Costco, which need $80,000 of income, and the catches that come with "free".

By Flatcart Editorial · Last reviewed Oct 27, 2026 · 3 min read

Illustration of a dollar sign in a circle beside the title "Best no annual fee credit cards"

The best no annual fee credit card for most Costco shoppers in Canada is the CIBC Costco Mastercard: $0 a year, 3% at Costco gas and restaurants, and $336 a year back on our sample $2,000 a month budget. Two free cards did better: add the BMO CashBack Mastercard for supermarket groceries and the pair earned $432, still for $0.

Check yoursWhat does the free Costco card pay you?Enter your own Costco, gas and restaurant spending to see the cash back on each Costco Mastercard.Compare the Costco cards

Which no annual fee credit cards earn the most?

We ran the free cards through the same sample household as our best cash back cards guide: $2,000 a month, $700 of it at Costco and its gas bar.

Bar chart of yearly rewards on $0 annual fee cards for a sample $2,000 a month budget. Two free cards together earn $432; the best single free cards are Rogers Red World Elite at $360 and the CIBC Costco Mastercard at $336; the lowest, flat 1% cards, earn $240.
Yearly rewards on the sample budget from cards with no annual fee. Several need $80,000 of income. Sample data; rates from each issuer's page.
$0 card or pairRewards a year (Sample data)Note
CIBC Costco + BMO CashBack for groceries$432Two $0 cards
Rogers Red World Elite$360Income: $80,000 personal or $150,000 household
CIBC Costco$336Income: $15,000
PC World Elite (PC Optimum points)$336Groceries at stores selling PC products; income $80,000
BMO CashBack$258Income: Not stated on its page
Tangerine Money-Back$246Income: $12,000
Amazon.ca Rewards$240Income: Not stated on its page
Walmart Rewards World$2401% outside Walmart, in Walmart Reward Dollars

The Costco card does well for a free card because Costco gas and restaurants earn 3%. The free cards that pay 0.5% outside their bonus categories, BMO CashBack and Tangerine, only edge out a flat 1% card here because of their grocery bonus; in the Costco warehouse they earn half as much.

Which free cards work at Costco?

Only the Mastercards. Canadian Costco warehouses and gas stations take Mastercard as their only credit card, so every card in the table works there. The free Visa cards, including the CIBC Dividend Visa and the Scotia Momentum No-Fee Visa, work on Costco.ca but not in the warehouse, and Costco Canada doesn't take American Express at all. Details are in which cards Costco accepts.

What are the catches with a free card?

  • Income: Rogers Red World Elite and PC World Elite are free but need $80,000 personal or $150,000 household income. The CIBC Costco Mastercard needs $15,000, Tangerine $12,000.
  • Weak base rates: BMO CashBack and Tangerine pay 0.5% on everything outside their bonus categories, including the Costco warehouse.
  • How you're paid: the Costco card pays a Costco cash back certificate once a year; Walmart pays in Walmart Reward Dollars; PC World Elite in PC Optimum points.
  • Interest: free cards charge full rates. Carry a balance and 21.75% on the Costco card costs far more than any fee; see low interest credit cards.
  • Foreign currency: most charge a fee, often about 2.5%, on purchases in U.S. dollars; check the card's page.

Is a free card better than one with a fee?

Usually, for a Costco household. On our budget, no single fee card beat the free pair: the BMO CashBack World Elite came closest at $377 after its $139 fee. Only a fee card paired with the Costco card did better, Scotia Momentum at $468, and it needs $60,000 of income and big grocery and bill spending; our fee break-even shows where it starts to pay.

Which no annual fee card should you get?

  • You shop at Costco and buy its gas: the CIBC Costco Mastercard. It also doubles as your membership card.
  • You also spend $300 or more a month at a supermarket: add the BMO CashBack Mastercard, or Tangerine with Grocery and Recurring Bill Payments.
  • You earn $80,000 or more and want one card: Rogers Red World Elite (1.5% everywhere, 2% with a Rogers, Fido or Shaw service).
  • You carry a balance: a low-rate card first; the $0 MBNA True Line Mastercard charges 12.99%.
  • You're a student or rebuilding credit: see student credit cards or cards for bad credit.

Save this guide for later

Email yourself the answer, the key facts and a link to each section, so you can pick up where you left off.

One email, no mailing list. We don’t keep your address.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best no annual fee credit card in Canada?
For a Costco shopper, the CIBC Costco Mastercard: $336 a year on our sample budget. With $80,000 of income, the Rogers Red World Elite earned $360.
Is the Costco credit card free?
Yes. The CIBC Costco Mastercard has a $0 annual fee, and up to 3 additional cards are $0 too. You still need a Costco membership.
Which free credit card works at Costco?
Any Mastercard, such as the $0 CIBC Costco Mastercard. Costco warehouses in Canada take Mastercard as their only credit card, so free Visa cards work only on Costco.ca.
Can two free cards earn more than one paid card?
Yes, on our sample budget: the CIBC Costco plus BMO CashBack pair earned $432 a year, more than any single card with a fee.
What is the cheapest no fee card if I carry a balance?
The MBNA True Line Mastercard: $0 a year and 12.99% on purchases, against 21.75% on the CIBC Costco Mastercard.

See the CIBC Costco Mastercard

Money

Keep reading