Skip to content

Money

The best cash back credit card in Canada for Costco shoppers (2026)

We ran 8 Canadian cash back cards through one sample budget. Scotia Momentum paired with the Costco card earned $468 a year after its fee, two free cards together $432, the BMO CashBack World Elite $377 after its fee, and the CIBC Costco Mastercard alone $336. Which ones work at Costco, which need $80,000 of income, and which to pick.

By Flatcart Editorial · Last reviewed Oct 27, 2026 · 5 min read

Illustration of a stack of coins beside the title "Best cash back credit cards in Canada"

The best cash back credit card in Canada for a Costco shopper is often two cards, because Costco warehouses take only Mastercard. Our sample budget is $2,000 a month, $700 of it at Costco. On it, the CIBC Costco Mastercard at Costco plus the free BMO CashBack Mastercard for supermarket groceries earned $432 a year, with no fees. Swap BMO for the $120 Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite and the pair earned $468 after the fee; the best single card, the BMO CashBack World Elite, earned $377 after its $139 fee.

Check yoursWhich Costco card earns the most for you?Enter your own Costco, gas and restaurant spending and see what each Costco Mastercard pays back.Compare the Costco cards

Which cash back cards earn the most in Canada?

We applied each card's published rates and caps to the same sample household, then took off the annual fee. Cards Costco doesn't take are paired with the CIBC Costco Mastercard, which covers Costco, its gas bar and any line where it pays more (restaurants, at 3%), since that's how you'd actually use the two.

Bar chart of yearly cash back after fees on a sample $2,000 a month budget. Highest: Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite + CIBC Costco at Costco $468, CIBC Costco + BMO CashBack for groceries $432, CIBC Dividend Visa Infinite + CIBC Costco at Costco $396. The CIBC Costco Mastercard alone earns $336.
Yearly cash back after annual fees on the sample budget. Cards Costco doesn't take are paired with the CIBC Costco Mastercard for Costco and restaurants. Sample data; rates from each issuer's page.
SetupAnnual feeCash back a year, after fees (Sample data)Use it at Costco?
Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite + CIBC Costco Mastercard at Costco$120$468Yes, through the CIBC card
CIBC Costco Mastercard + BMO CashBack Mastercard for groceries$0$432Yes, through the CIBC card
CIBC Dividend Visa Infinite + CIBC Costco Mastercard at Costco$120$396Yes, through the CIBC card
BMO CashBack World Elite Mastercard$139$377Yes
Rogers Red World Elite Mastercard$0$360Yes
CIBC Costco Mastercard$0$336Yes
BMO CashBack Mastercard$0$258Yes
Tangerine Money-Back Credit Card$0$246Yes
Amazon.ca Rewards Mastercard$0$240Yes

The ranking moves with your budget. A household that spends more at supermarkets and on bills pushes the Visa Infinite cards up; one that does most of its shopping at Costco makes the CIBC Costco Mastercard hard to beat.

Which cash back cards can you use at Costco?

Only the Mastercards. Canadian Costco warehouses and gas stations take Mastercard as their only credit card, plus debit. Visa works only on Costco.ca, and American Express isn't accepted anywhere at Costco Canada. That's why a card with a strong grocery rate can still be the wrong card for your Costco run:

CardNetworkCostco warehouseCostco gasMinimum income
CIBC Costco MastercardMastercard1%3%$15,000
Rogers Red World Elite MastercardMastercard1.5%1.5%$80,000 personal or $150,000 household
BMO CashBack World Elite MastercardMastercard1%3%$80,000 personal or $150,000 household
BMO CashBack MastercardMastercard0.5%0.5%Not stated on its page
Tangerine Money-Back Credit CardMastercard0.5%0.5%$12,000
Amazon.ca Rewards MastercardMastercard1%1%Not stated on its page
Scotia Momentum Visa InfiniteVisaNot acceptedNot accepted$60,000 personal (Scotiabank lists other household and asset options)
CIBC Dividend Visa InfiniteVisaNot acceptedNot accepted$60,000 individual or $100,000 household

Grocery bonuses rarely reach Costco: issuers usually code Costco as a wholesale club, not a grocery store, so a "4% on groceries" card earns its base rate there. We explain the merchant codes in does Costco count as grocery spending. American Express cash back cards aren't in our table: Costco Canada doesn't take Amex, and we couldn't confirm Amex's current rates on its own page.

What is the best no-fee cash back card for Costco shoppers?

On its own, the CIBC Costco Mastercard: $336 a year on our budget, thanks to 3% at Costco gas and restaurants, and it doubles as your membership card. The only free card that beat it was the Rogers Red World Elite at $360 (1.5% on everything, 2% with a Rogers, Fido or Shaw service), and it needs $80,000 personal or $150,000 household income.

The better free move is a pair. Keep the Costco card for Costco, its gas bar and restaurants, and add the BMO CashBack Mastercard for supermarket groceries at 3% on the first $500 a statement period. That added $96 a year here. Our two-card guide compares this with a Tangerine pairing. Every $0 card is ranked in the best no annual fee credit cards.

Is a cash back card with an annual fee worth it?

Sometimes. The BMO CashBack World Elite earned $516 before its $139 fee, led by 5% on groceries, and still came out ahead of every free single card. The Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite pays 4% on groceries and recurring payments (up to $25,000 a year), and paired with the Costco card it netted $468 after its $120 fee, $36 more than the free pair.

The test is against the free pair, not the Costco card alone. Scotia earns 1 percentage point more than BMO on groceries and 3 more than the Costco card on bills, so with our mix of the two it covers its $120 fee once groceries and bills pass about $540 a month. A household heavier on bills gets there sooner. Below that, the free pair wins. Fee cards also need more income: $60,000 for the Visa Infinite cards and $80,000 for World Elite.

How did we pick the cards, and what's in the sample budget?

Budget line (Sample data)Per month
Costco warehouse$500
Costco gas$200
Supermarket groceries$400
Restaurants$200
Recurring bills$300
Everything else$400
Total$2,000

We took each card's rates, caps and fees from its issuer's page: Scotiabank checked October 27, 2026, and the others October 15, 2026, from our card-by-card guides. Caps are applied the way each issuer states them, per statement period or per year. Welcome offers and first-year fee waivers are left out, since they're gone after year one. Bills are counted as phone, internet, utilities and streaming; restaurants exclude food delivery.

Which cash back card should you get?

  • Most of your spending is at Costco: the CIBC Costco Mastercard, with no fee. Read what it earns.
  • You also spend $300 or more a month at supermarkets: add the free BMO CashBack Mastercard for groceries, or Tangerine if bills matter more.
  • Your income is $80,000 or more and you want one card: BMO CashBack World Elite for big grocery bills, Rogers Red World Elite for simplicity.
  • Your grocery and bill spending is over about $540 a month and you earn $60,000: a Visa Infinite like Scotia Momentum, with the Costco card for Costco and restaurants.
  • You want points instead: see points or cash back.

Save this guide for later

Email yourself the answer, the key facts and a link to each section, so you can pick up where you left off.

One email, no mailing list. We don’t keep your address.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best cash back credit card in Canada?
It depends on where you spend. On our sample budget, the best single card was the BMO CashBack World Elite ($377 a year after its $139 fee); two free cards, the CIBC Costco Mastercard plus BMO CashBack, earned $432, and Scotia Momentum with the Costco card $468 after its $120 fee.
What is the highest cash back credit card in Canada?
For a single category, 5% on groceries on the BMO CashBack World Elite (first $500 a statement period). For everything, the Rogers Red World Elite pays 1.5% to 2% on all purchases up to $61,000 a year.
Can I use a Visa cash back card at Costco?
No, not in Canadian warehouses or gas stations, which take Mastercard as their only credit card. You can still use a Visa for Costco.ca orders and Costco Travel bookings.
What is the best no-fee cash back card for Costco?
The CIBC Costco Mastercard: $0, 3% at Costco gas and restaurants, 2% on Costco.ca and 1% in the warehouse. It earned $336 on our sample budget.
Is a $120 cash back card worth it?
Only with enough spending in its bonus categories. Against two free cards, Scotia Momentum's $120 fee paid off once groceries and bills passed about $540 a month in our sample mix; below that, the free pair earns more after the fee.

Compare the Costco Mastercards

Money

Keep reading